Foden’s Solo, Duet & Quartet Contest

Foden’s enjoyed another fantastic day at the Foden’s Solo Contest on Saturday 29th October 2016 where once again a bumper entry of almost 100 competitors competed in various classes and filled what was to be a long and exciting day. Sandbach School was the welcoming venue for the Foden’s Solo, Duet & Quartet competition, with the sixth event attracting performers of all ages, levels and nationalities.

Now regarded as the leading competition of its type in the UK, this year the international flavour was enhanced by players from across the banding world — from a few miles away in Manchester to Cyprus and even China.

The winner in the Open Air Varie class will have a piece written for them thanks to our Artistic Director Bramwell Tovey which will be premiered at next years Festival of Brass in Manchester.

Besson would like to thank the Foden’s band, the talented musicians, the fantastic adjudicators Tom Hutchinson, Mike Fowles, John Barber, Mark Wilkinson and Andy Scott, and finally Band Supplies, Creative Brass, Astute Music, John Needham and B# sharp.

Class 1: 11 & Under Slow Melody:

Helen Stewart Memorial Quaich plus £100 Band Supplies voucher
1. Amelia Stuart
2. Lewis Barton
3. Simon Binon

Class 2: 12 & 13 Slow Melody:

Diamond Jubilee Trophy plus £100 Band Supplies voucher
1. Adam Warburton
2. Hannah Taylor
3. Rory MacLeod

Class 3: 14 to 16 Slow Melody

B and G J Birch Memorial Cup plus £100 Band Supplies voucher
1. Owain Llestyn
2. Archie McVicar
3. Lewis Topping

Class 4: 17 to 19 Slow Melody

Bryan Tait Trophy plus £100 Band Supplies voucher
1. Gemma Riley
2. Zoe Wright
3. Kirsten MacDonald

Class 5: Vintage Slow Melody

Lyndon Baglin Trophy
1. Paul Bennett
2. Murray Borthwick
3. Patricia Woodings

Class 6: Open Slow Melody
Mark Wilkinson Trophy

1. Lode Violet
2. Paul Bennett
3. Kevin Van Giel

Class 7: Under 16 Air Varie
Granville Jennings Trophy

1. Owain Llestyn
2. Archie McVicar
3. Lewis Barton

Class 8: 16 to 21 Air Varie
Louise Charles Memorial Trophy

1. Isobel Daws
2. Liv Appleton
3. Seth Livingstone

Class 9: Vintage Air Varie
Bramwell Tovey Award

1. Paul Bennett
2. Murray Borthwick
3. Patricia Wildings

Class 10: Open Air Varie
Peter Fletcher President’s Trophy

1. Lode Violet
2. Kevin Van Giel
3. Isobel Daws

Class 11: 11 and Under Duet

Roy Alcock Prize
1. Annie and Amelia Stuart
2. Emil and Florien Rogsaeter
3. Ruby and Kitty Hawker

Class 12: 12 to 16 Duet
George Rolfe Memorial Cup plus £100 Band Supplies voucher

1. Simon and Martijn Binon
2. Hannah Taylor and Bethany Harby
3. Music Girls

Class 13: Open Duet
Sandbach Boys School Trophy

1. Stephen Lomas and Daniel Brooks
2. Trombonium
3. Vincent Tan and Adam Bokaris

Class 15: 12- 16 Quartet
Foden’s Annual Award

1. The Purple Ladies
2. Llantastic Four
3. Nordly’s Kvartet (Northern Lights)

Class 16: Open Quartet
Foden Challenge Trophy

1. Lutece (PBB)
2. In Slide Out
3. Bury Brass

Special Trophies:
Best Local Player: Sandbach Town Council Trophy — Amelia Stuart
Outstanding Performances of the Day: Flowcrete Trophy — Lode Violet
Most Outstanding Player 12-15: Christie Smith
Most Outstanding Cornet Player: Lewis Barton
Most Outstanding Horn Player: Kirsten McDonald
Most Outstanding Euphonium Player: Glyn Williams Trophy — Kevin Van Geil
Most Outstanding Trombone Player: Adam Warburton
Most Outstanding Bass Player: Archie McVicar
Youngest Player in the Competition: Florien Krogseaeter (aged 8)

Retour en Haut
Your product has been added to the Shopping Cart Go to cart Continue shopping